Field guide · CASE Product Spotlights

CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm and CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm: AI Varifocal Camera Pair

Installer spotlight on the CASE CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm dome and CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm turret: the two printed differences, the 16-function AI suite, where varifocal pays off and how to set it up.

By Anabon Security Inc. — Technical Support · 9 min read · For installers, integrators and dealers

Quick answer: The CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm (dome) and the CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm (turret) are two CASE Intelligent Series AI varifocal cameras that print the same core rows: 8MP at 3840×2160@30fps, a 2.7–13.5 mm lens, 164 ft (50 m) IR and the same 16-function on-camera AI list printed on both. Pick the dome where impact resistance matters (IP66 and IK10 as printed) and the turret where the cold matters (−40 °F (−40 °C) as printed, against −31 °F (−35 °C) on the dome). Both are CASE cameras with a 6-year warranty serviced through you.

Dome or turret: which version belongs on this mount?

Read the two catalog pages side by side and almost every row is identical: 8MP sensor, 2.7mm – 13.5 mm lens, 164 ft (50 m) IR, 0.002 Lux minimum illumination, 120dB WDR, Audio I/O 1/1 with a built-in microphone and no built-in speaker, Alarm I/O 2/1, a 512 GB memory slot, S+265/H.265/H.264/Motion JPEG compression and a Metal housing. The catalog prints exactly two differences, and they decide the mount.

Printed row CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm (dome) CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm (turret)
Protection IP66, IK10 IP66
Operating conditions −31 °F to 149 °F (−35 °C to 65 °C), 0–95% RH −40 °F to 149 °F (−40 °C to 65 °C), 0–95% RH
All other printed rows Identical Identical

Specify the dome where the camera can be reached or struck: low corridor ceilings, stairwells, loading areas with carts and forklifts, and public entrances. IK10 is the impact rating printed for this SKU; no IK rating is printed for the turret, so do not quote one. Specify the turret on exterior walls, dock canopies and unheated buildings in the northern states and Canada, where its printed −40 °F (−40 °C) lower limit gives you margin the dome does not. For what the ratings mean on site, see IP66 vs IP67 vs IK10.

Key printed numbers of the CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm and CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm: 8MP, 2.7–13.5 mm lens, 164 ft (50 m) IR, 16 AI functions
AI varifocal dome and turret

What does the full AI suite include, as printed?

Both SKUs carry the CASE Advanced AI suite and print the same 16 functions in the AI row. The analytics run on the camera; how events are searched and displayed depends on the NVR. Detection performance depends on the scene, mounting height and framing, and is confirmed per model, firmware and project configuration.

Function (as printed) Typical installer use
Tripwire / Double Tripwire Alert on a line crossing at a fence, dock edge or gate lane; the double version needs two lines crossed in sequence
Perimeter Entry into a drawn zone, such as a yard or lot after hours
Object Abandon / Object Lost An item left in a fire lane or lobby, or staged equipment removed
Loitering / Running Someone lingering at a rear door, or fast movement in a corridor
Parking A vehicle stopped in a fire lane or on a dock apron
Crowd Detection / People Counting Density at an entrance; counts across a doorway
On Duty Detection Whether a post such as a guard desk or reception is staffed
Video Abnormal / Audio Abnormal Tamper-type picture events and unusual sound on the microphone input
Heatmap Where activity concentrates over a period
Safety Helmet Detection A person without a hard hat in a production or dock zone
Human & Vehicle Classification Filters triggers to people and vehicles for fewer false alarms

How many rules can run at the same time, and which ones combine, is not printed in the catalog. Take it from the spec sheet and test the rule set on the bench before site day.

Where does an AI varifocal camera earn its place?

A fixed 2.8 mm lens suits most doors and rooms. The varifocal earns its place when the area to cover is not what a fixed lens happens to frame. On these two SKUs you choose the framing on site anywhere between the 2.7 mm wide end and the 13.5 mm narrow end, then draw the analytics rules over that framing. Typical jobs:

  • Warehouse racking aisles: mount at the aisle end and narrow the lens so the far end of the aisle gets usable pixels, with Loitering or Perimeter after hours.
  • Dock doors: frame the door and the apron, rely on the 120dB WDR for the bright opening, and use Parking or Safety Helmet Detection where the operation needs it.
  • Long corridors and stairwells: the dome for vandal exposure, with Object Abandon for fire-exit routes.
  • Parking entrances and fence lines: the turret for cold exposure, Tripwire on the entry lane, and the 164 ft (50 m) IR for night illumination.

For the decision itself, see varifocal vs fixed lens; for the pixel arithmetic behind each focal length, use the field of view and lens calculator.

How do you set up the lens, IR and analytics on site?

  1. Frame first, then draw rules. The catalog prints the focal range but not the field of view at each end, and it does not state whether the lens adjusts by motor or by hand. Take both from the spec sheet before you promise remote zoom changes. Every time the framing changes, re-draw the lines and zones.
  2. Set a pixel target. Decide on detection, recognition or identification, then set the focal length that delivers it.
  3. Treat IR as illumination, not identification. The printed Max. IR Distance is 164 ft (50 m). That is how far the IR reaches; identification distance is shorter and depends on focal length. See IR range explained.
  4. Use the alarm contacts. Alarm I/O 2/1 gives two inputs (a door contact or a beam) and one output (a strobe or an interposing relay). The output rating is not printed in the catalog; check the spec sheet before wiring a load.
  5. Audio needs a decision, not a default. The built-in microphone and Audio I/O 1/1 allow audio capture and an external speaker on the output. Audio recording rules differ by state laws and by provincial laws and PIPEDA in Canada; verify the local requirement before you enable recording.
  6. Plan the power. No power row is printed in the catalog for either SKU. Read the PoE class and maximum consumption from the spec sheet before you size the switch or the NVR PoE budget.
  7. Use the edge slot. A card of up to 512 GB gives local backup recording during network outages; match overwrite settings to the site’s retention policy.

Which recorder and software should you pair it with?

Each camera streams up to 3840×2160@30fps, so plan recorder bandwidth from the bitrate you configure. S+265 is printed on both SKUs; use it where the recorder supports it. On CASE AI NVRs, VCA Search turns recorded events into searchable categories. The CS-N440 P16H-AI prints 40CH, 16 PoE ports and 400Mbps / 400Mbps (AI on: 200Mbps / 200Mbps), with VCA Search items including Behavior Search and Safety Helmet Search. For smaller sites, the CS-N220 P16H-AI prints 20CH, 16 PoE ports and 160Mbps (AI on: 120Mbps) / 80Mbps. Which camera events each NVR indexes for search is confirmed per model, firmware and software version.

For third-party recorders: ONVIF profiles supported are S, T, and G, with M on pinhole models. Third-party behavior is confirmed per platform and project. For your customer’s phone access, CASE Connect is the official app experience for CASE systems; app features and remote access options should be confirmed by model, software version, and project configuration. CASE offers NDAA-compliant options for compliance-sensitive projects. Anabon confirms the exact products and provides the official compliance documentation for each project.

Spec table: CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm and CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm as printed

Row CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm
Form / series Dome, Intelligent Turret, Intelligent
Image sensor 8MP 8MP
Lens 2.7mm – 13.5 mm 2.7mm – 13.5 mm
Max. resolution and frame rate 3840×2160@30fps 3840×2160@30fps
Max. IR distance 164 ft (50 m) 164 ft (50 m)
Min. illumination 0.002 Lux 0.002 Lux
White light distance N/A N/A
Wide dynamic range 120dB 120dB
Audio I/O / microphone / speaker 1/1, Yes, N/A 1/1, Yes, N/A
Alarm I/O 2/1 2/1
Memory slot 512 GB 512 GB
Video compression S+265/H.265/H.264/Motion JPEG S+265/H.265/H.264/Motion JPEG
Protection IP66, IK10 IP66
Housing Metal Metal
Operating conditions −31 °F to 149 °F (−35 °C to 65 °C), 0–95% RH −40 °F to 149 °F (−40 °C to 65 °C), 0–95% RH
AI 16 functions, listed above 16 functions, listed above
Warranty CASE cameras: 6-year CASE cameras: 6-year

Not printed in the catalog and read from the spec sheet before quoting: field of view at each focal length, lens drive type, power class and consumption, and weight.

What to tell your customer

We have specified an 8MP varifocal camera that we frame on site to the exact area you care about, and it runs its own analytics, such as line crossing, loitering and safety helmet detection, with alerts filtered to people and vehicles. You view it and receive alerts through CASE Connect; app features are confirmed for your model and software version. The camera carries a 6-year warranty, and all service runs through us.

FAQ

Which version should I use outdoors in a Canadian winter?

Both are IP66, but the CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm turret prints an operating range down to −40 °F (−40 °C), while the CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm dome prints −31 °F (−35 °C). For exterior walls and unheated buildings in cold regions, the turret gives more margin. Use the dome outdoors where its IK10 impact rating matters more than the extra cold rating.

Is the lens motorized on these cameras?

The catalog prints the lens as 2.7mm – 13.5 mm on both SKUs and does not state whether it is adjusted by motor or by hand. Check the spec sheet for the exact SKU before you quote remote zoom or refocus as a feature. Until then, plan to set the final framing during commissioning with a technician on site.

Does 164 ft (50 m) of IR mean I can identify people at that distance?

No. The printed Max. IR Distance tells you how far the infrared illumination reaches. Whether a face or a plate is readable at a given distance depends on the focal length you set, the resolution, mounting height and the scene. Size identification zones with a pixels-per-foot target and test them at night before handover.

Can these cameras warn an intruder with a voice message?

Neither SKU has a built-in speaker; both print Audio I/O 1/1, so an external speaker can be connected to the audio output where the spec sheet allows it. For built-in light and audio deterrence, specify an Early Warning model such as the CS-I8XQ II-2.8mm. EW and AEW are deterrence features. Availability is confirmed per SKU.

What warranty applies, and who services it?

CASE cameras and CASE NVRs carry a 6-year warranty. CASE PTZ cameras carry a 3-year warranty. CASE accessories carry unlimited warranty. Hard drives are supported through back-to-back manufacturer warranty. Service runs through the installer or dealer who supplied the system; an end user should contact the installer or company that supplied their system.

Can I test one before a larger rollout?

Ask Anabon whether these SKUs are currently available as approved demo products for your project. For approved demo products we provide a 90-day test period under the approved demo return process. This is not a general return policy. Use the test to confirm framing, IR behavior and the analytics rule set on the real site.

References

CASE products related to this guide

CASE CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm — 8MP Varifocal AI Dome Camera

CS-I8MS I-2.7-13.5mm

8MP Varifocal AI Dome Camera

8MP AI varifocal dome: 2.7–13.5 mm, 164 ft (50 m) IR, IP66 and IK10, 16 AI functions, −31 °F (−35 °C) as printed

6-year warranty

Specifications on the CASE site
CASE CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm — 8MP Varifocal AI Turret Camera

CS-I8SS I-2.7-13.5mm

8MP Varifocal AI Turret Camera

8MP AI varifocal turret: same printed lens, IR and AI list, IP66, rated down to −40 °F (−40 °C) as printed

6-year warranty

Specifications on the CASE site
CASE CS-N440 P16H-AI — 40-Channel AI NVR with 16 PoE Ports

CS-N440 P16H-AI

40-Channel AI NVR with 16 PoE Ports

AI NVR pairing: 40 channels, 16 PoE ports, 400/400 Mbps (AI on: 200/200 Mbps) and VCA Search, as printed

6-year warranty

Specifications on the CASE site

Pricing is private and available through your approved business account. Specifications are confirmed per SKU, firmware and project before quoting.

Are you an end user rather than an installer? For warranty and service, please contact the installer or company that supplied your system. Anabon supports warranty and technical service through our installer, dealer and business-account network.

Scroll to Top